Jeffrey Parola is an American composer of numerous orchestral, chamber, and choral/vocal works. his music is varied and eclectic, reflecting a wide range of musical influences. Jeffrey’s major professional commissions include a newly composed work for the Empire City Men’s Chorus and the Queer Urban Orchestra, called Break Forth, Dream, set to texts by Walt Whitman, to be premiered in New York City in May 2024. The critically acclaimed Concerto for Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra, was written for clarinetist Paul Green and the Atlantic Classical Orchestra and conductor Steward Robertson, which received its premiere performances in Florida. this view of life for chorus and string quartet was written for Choral Chameleon, directed by Vince Peterson, and premiered in New York City. Commissioned by the Los Angeles-based Pacific Serenades, Three Divertimenti for bassoon and string quartet received its premiere performances in Los Angeles and West Hollywood. infinite self for baritone, string quartet, and piano (text by Robinson Jeffers) received its premiere with David Castillo, baritone, Victoria Kirsch, pianist, and the Lyris Quartet, commissioned for the USC Visions and Voices event, “Earth’s Waters: Rivers, Lakes, and Oceans in Poetry and Music.” In the world for string quartet and soprano (text by John Muir) was commissioned as part of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music’s Hoefer Prize, and the piece received its premiere performance by the Thalea String Quartet with Marnie Breckenridge, soprano.

Jeffrey is the recipient of numerous notable honors. In 2009, he was awarded the Jim Highsmith Orchestral Composition Prize for his large orchestral work, The Long Valley, which led to a public performance of the piece by the San Francisco Conservatory Orchestra, led by Maestro Andrew Mogrelia. Jeffrey received honorable mention for the 2009 European American Musical Alliance (EAMA) Prize for his work, Sempiterna, a 25-minute pseudo-requiem for a cappella chorus; and three years later, Jeffrey was awarded the 2012 EAMA Prize for The Long Valley. In 2013, Jeffrey was selected by a committee of philanthropists and musicians to receive the Rappaport Prize for Music Composition, which culminated in a commission to write his Concerto for Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra for the Atlantic Classical Orchestra. In 2014, his 5 Short Pieces for solo piano was awarded the Peter David Faith Endowed Memorial Award in Composition at the University of Southern California. Also in 2014, Jeffrey was chosen to be the recipient of the 2016 Hoefer Prize, the highest award granted to distinguished alumni composers from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Jeffrey was also awarded the Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academic of Arts and Letters in May of 2016.

5 SHORT PIECES for solo piano
Hui Wu, pianist

THREE DIVERTIMENTI for bassoon and string quartet
Pacific Serenades

THIS VIEW OF LIFE for mixed chorus and string quartet
Various performers

STARS for mixed chorus
USC Thornton Chamber Singers; Jeffrey Parola, conductor

THE LONG VALLEY for orchestra
San Francisco Conservatory Orchestra; Andrew Mogrelia, conductor